Sep. 01 2017
C New Critics Award 2017

Announcing this year’s C New Critics Award winner.

Emily Dickson:
We Are Still Here: Camille Seaman’s Portrait Photography from Oceti Sakowin
Published in C Magazine Issue 135 “Voice” (Autumn 2017).

C Magazine would like to thank all those who applied, as well as the 2017 award jury: Writers Andrew Berardini and Corrine Fitzpatrick, and C Magazine’s Editor, Kari Cwynar.

C Magazine would also like to thank all those who submitted their writing to the competition.

2018 C New Critics Award Call

The C New Critics Award is designed to help develop and promote the work of emerging art critics. Writers are invited to submit a review of an exhibition, performance, or site-specific intervention, between 800 and 1,000 words, by Friday April 20th, 2018. The winner will receive $500, editorial support in order to prepare their article for publication in C Magazine, and a two-year subscription to C Magazine. All other participants will receive a one-year subscription.

For the purposes of the award, an emerging writer is defined as anyone who has not published more than one essay, article, or review in a recognized print or online publication, exclusive of student-run journals and magazines. The competition is open to anyone, regardless of age, citizenship or nationality.

One submission is allowed per person and must be sent as an email attachment, in MS Word to editor at cmagazine dot com. Mail or fax submissions will not be accepted.